Smart Village Montenegro

Project aimed at revitalization of a rural area in Montenegro

The revitalization of the Vrmac Peninsula, a dividing line between the Bay of Kotor and the Tivat Bay, is a project aimed at developing the concept of reruralization, which would ensure a revival and valorization of this natural sight, traditionally used mainly for agricultural purposes, and currently under threat of urbanization.

 

Apart from preserving one of the most beautiful sights at the Montenegrin coast, the project would also contribute to creating job opportunities in the sector of sustainable development, which would mainly concern local young people, who would thus benefit from being given an opportunity to stay in their homeland.

 

What constitutes a specificity of the project is the use of innovative technologies for treatment of sewage waste in the territory of Kotor and Tivat, the two most visited tourist destinations in Montenegro, which become densely crowded in the peak summer season. As a consequence, this peak of tourism greatly endangers the coastal area, flora and fauna. Taking all this into consideration, the project aims to create a synergy between the urban and rural areas, thus providing a model to be followed by not only other places in Montenegro, but also in the Southeast of Europe, a region in transition with plenty of underdeveloped environmental potential. For these reasons, the project strives to promote new territorial strategies which would contribute to establishing links between rural areas undergoing an ecological transition, particularly useful in the fight against global warming.

The area is located in an agricultural and protected natural sight which includes a few abandoned villages. The project includes establishment of permanent and seasonal settlements, organic agriculture, food production, handicraft and light industry. Moreover, it is envisaged that energetic autonomy is to be achieved through renewable energy sources, along with local waste treatment and their valorization/use.

 

Various aspects of the project have been incorporated into all of its development phases: social, economic, legal aspects, as well as aspects related to environmental protection.

 

The intention is to develop a project which can be used as a model to be replicated and used worldwide, demonstrating an example of a good combination of ecology, social issues and profitability.

 

The two municipalities, Kotor and Tivat, their associations of owners and local people jointly take part in the project.

 

The project includes the protection and revaluation of rural areas:

  • Create synergy among local stakeholders ;
  • Valorize agricultural land and traditional production ;
  • Develop handicraft/crafts and tourist-oriented activities ;
  • Develop and reinforce biodynamic methods – permaculture, agroforestry.

PROJECT GEOGRAPHY

The Vrmac Peninsula that stretches between two bays, the bay of Kotor and bay of Tivat, is an extraordinary place in the coastal area, which has not been affected by the recent process of urbanization.

The difference in elevation between sea level and the top of the Vrmac hill (700m), on the one side and two-fold orientation of the slopes stretching to the south and the north, on the other side creates a healthy environment with different types of vegetation that deserve to be recognized and valorised.

Specific projects

Individual projects

Installation of waste management plants

Installation of a plant for treatment of mud, waste and biomass pyrolysis of cogeneration with electric energy, coldness and heat…

Installation of a plant intended for plant waste and forestry residues, as well as agricultural waste (grape vine, olives, nuts) to create an autonomous site in terms of energy.

Pilot farm

Restoration of an abandoned farm which is to be used for agricultural purposes and exploitation of detached and leased land.

Vrmac House

Monitoring and maintenance of the natural area

Workroom for manufacture and promotion of homemade products – olive oil- pomegranate juice- aromatic herbsplants – essential oils production.

.

Ecotourism agency

Country cottages, mountaineering, workshops, cultural events.

Workshops dedicated to heritage

A workshop dedicated to heritage, to be organized in cooperation with the Ministry of Culture of Montenegro and Austria, aimed at restoring Austro-Hungarian ruins and reviving rural heritage.

Activities, cooperatives, labels

Support to production activities – olive oil, honey, wine, herbal products, different kinds of cheese, flowers, essential oils, cosmetics, woodworking (olive wood).

Quality of products guaranteed by AOC label (controlled designation of origin).

Components of the project

« Since 2002 I have attended numerous architecture and urban planning workshops together with professionals and students from various French universities. I have also attended botanical workshops, but also the workshops on traditional drywall construction.

In 2015, a more systematic study on economic valorization of Vrmac was funded by the EU through a crossborder IPA project. The study was conducted by a group of Croatian and Montenegrin experts, me among them, in partnership with the Municipality of Tivat and numerous local associations : NGO Napredak Gornja Lastva (local people and defenders of the village)- NGO Expeditio (the architectural association headquartered in Kotor). These two NGOs participate in the project. »

– Prince Nikola Petrović Njegoš, President of Foundation Petrović Njegoš.

  • Rural and economic exodus : a part of the population has left the village to settle in urban area, while others moved abroad two or three generations ago.
  • Problem with ownership rights : Cadastre – Inheritance
  • Derelict cultures and uncultivated land – invasive plant species
  • Neglected forests and fire risk
  • Water shortage despite a lot of precipitation (calcareous ground)
  • Derelict construction heritage, in poor condition
  • Unsupervised flocks of goats- vegetation degradation and acid soils.
  • Illegal construction and continuation of urbanization process

The designers: – Petrović Njegoš Foundation; Anthos Air Power Normandy

Institutions-local-national-international ;

Local people-owners- diaspora ;

Associations-cooperatives ;

Partners-experts-sponsors-cultural workers-economists.

  • Tivat Municipality ;
  • Kotor Municipality ;
  • Ministry of Sustainable Development and Tourism ;
  • Ministry of Agriculture ;
  • Representatives of owners (ownership rights) ;
  • Active local associations: Gornja Lastva- Expeditio- Mountaineering Club ’’Veverice’’;
  • Regional experts recruited through the IPA project ;
  • Foundation R20, EGIS ;
  • Technology partners ( Set Ennergy, Airpower, WMI).

Workshop R20 Vrmac

The workshop jointly initiated by the Foundation R20, Foundation Petrović Njegoš and NGO Napredak, Gornja Lastva, with the purpose of undertaking a feasibility study on protection and valorization of the Vrmac massif and its heritage. The project aims to create a model of eco-development of an area which can later potentially be replicated (implemented in other areas).

The workshop is aimed at monitoring implementation of different project phases and its funding.

The project will be in collaboration with the municipal services of the cities of Tivat and Kotor. Moreover, it will bring together local and regional experts already familiar with this area, as well as international experts from different disciplines. The various stakeholders will participate in the development of the project, they will be regularly consulted during the different phases of the project in order to carry out the test and development phases of the project.

Prince Nicolas Petrovitch Njegosh Président de la Fondation PN

“The VRMAC Peninsula is a unique site and landscape not only in Montenegro but throughout the Adriatic coast.

Miraculously preserved despite the real estate fever that has trivialized the coast for the past 20 years, it deserves to be the subject of all care and to be not only protected but also valued, for himself and in that he values all tourist facilities in the region.

The choice of the Municipality of Trivat to make this protected natural area in the extension of the part of Vrmac in the municipality of Kotor, a UNESCO World Heritage Site is a wise and useful choice for all municipalities Trivat and Kotor but it also enriches Montenegro’s tourism offer. This project can become a laboratory and a model of sustainable development that will strengthen the image of the Ecological State of our country.

Personally, I am attached to this site through the village of Gornja Lastva and the small team that courageously protects and animates it.

Since 2002, we have been studying together, through several summer workshops, the possibilities of revitalizing the village and the territories to which it is connected.

Under the anarchic vegetation and behind the remains of stones is hidden a small Mediterranean paradise in which and thanks to which could live generations of farmers, craftsmen, sailors, and intellectuals who contributed through a turbulent history to the quality and cultural diversity of Montenegro.

Revive this territory, revitalize its activities, make its resources grow, reveal to the local inhabitants and visitors the beauty and natural wealth of the site, allow them to relax, to discover a culture and a way of life , to familiarize their children with nature and a healthy way of life, to offer places of reintegration for people with disabilities or in difficulty …. And to start this great adventure in 2016 just after the COP 21, which I hope will be the year of historic decisions to save our planet, this makes our ecological commitments meaningful and we will participate in this global mobilization.

These are the magnificent stakes of this project which must be able to mobilize the institutions as the citizens of this country. This beautiful collective story that we propose and that reconnects with the generations that preceded us, beyond the financial interests of a few, can bring to all more prosperity and a better quality of life.”

Prince Nikola Petrovich Njegosh.

Zero emission, is the goal of Smart City!

Smart Village Monténégro

Projet visant à la revitalisation d'une zone rurale au Monténégro

La revitalisation de la presqu’île de Vrmac, ligne de démarcation entre la baie de Kotor et la baie de Tivat, est un projet visant à développer le concept de reruralisation qui assurerait la revitalisation et la revalorisation de ce site naturel, traditionnellement utilisé à des fins agricoles et régulièrement sous la menace de l’urbanisation grandissante.

 

Outre la préservation de l’un des plus beaux sites de la côte monténégrine, le projet contribuerait également à créer des emplois dans le domaine du développement durable, qui concerneraient principalement les jeunes, qui auraient ainsi la possibilité de rester dans leur pays .

 

Ce qui constitue une spécificité du projet est l’utilisation de technologies innovantes pour le traitement des eaux usées sur le territoire de Kotor et Tivat, les deux lieux touristiques les plus visités au Monténégro, qui sont densément peuplés pendant la haute saison estivale. Ce genre de surcharge met en danger la zone côtière, la flore et la faune. Par conséquent, le projet vise à créer une synergie entre les zones urbaines et rurales, fournissant ainsi un modèle à suivre par d’autres endroits au Monténégro, mais aussi en Europe du Sud-Est, une région en transition avec des potentiels environnementaux sous-développés. Pour ces raisons, le projet vise à promouvoir de nouvelles stratégies territoriales qui contribueraient à établir des liens entre les zones rurales en transition écologique, particulièrement utiles pour la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique.

La zone est située sur un site agricole et naturel protégé qui comprend quelques villages abandonnés. Le projet comprend l’établissement de populations permanentes et saisonnières, l’agriculture biologique, la production alimentaire, l’artisanat et l’industrie. De plus, il est envisagé que l’autonomie énergétique soit atteinte grâce à des sources d’énergie renouvelables, au traitement local des déchets et à leur valorisation.

 

Divers aspects du projet ont été intégrés dans toutes les phases de développement : aspects sociaux, économiques, juridiques et environnementaux.

 

Le but est de développer un projet qui puisse être utilisé comme un modèle à appliquer dans le monde entier, qui servirait d’exemple entre une bonne combinaison sur les plans écologiques, sociaux et économiques.

 

Les deux municipalités Kotor et Tivat, leurs associations de propriétaires et les populations locales participent conjointement au projet.

 

Le projet comprend la protection et la revalorisation des zones rurales :

  • Créer une synergie entre les acteurs locaux ;
  • Valoriser les terres agricoles et la production traditionnelle ;
  • Développer l’artisanat et les activités touristiques ;
  • Renforcer la biodynamique, la permaculture et l’agroforesterie.

GÉOGRAPHIE DU PROJET

La péninsule de Vrmac, qui s’étend entre la baie de Kotor et la baie de Tivat, est un endroit extraordinaire de la zone côtière, qui n’a pas été affectée par le récent processus d’urbanisation.

La différence d’élévation entre le niveau de la mer et le sommet de la colline Vrmac (700m), d’un côté et l’orientation double des pentes s’étendant vers le sud et le nord, crée un environnement sain avec différents types de végétations, qui mérite d’être valorisé.

Les projets spécifiques

Projets individuels

Installation d’une usine de traitement des boues et des déchets de la biomasse par pyrolyse, ainsi qu’une cogénération d’énergie électrique, de froid et de chaleur.

Installation d’une usine destinée aux déchets végétaux et aux résidus forestiers, ainsi qu’aux déchets agricoles (vigne, olives, noix) pour créer un site autonome en terme d’énergie.

Installation d’une usine de gestion des déchets.

Ferme pilote

Restauration d’une ferme abandonnée destinée à l’agriculture et l’exploitation de terres abandonnées.

Maison Vrmac

Surveillance et maintenance de l’espace naturel.

Atelier pour la fabrication et la promotion de produits artisanaux et locaux (huile d’olive, jus de grenade, herbes aromatiques, plantes, huiles essentielles…).

Agence d'écotourisme

Gîtes ruraux, alpinisme, ateliers ou encore manifestations culturelles.

Ateliers dédiés au patrimoine

L’atelier, organisé en coopération avec le ministère de la Culture du Monténégro et de l’Autriche, vise à restaurer les ruines austro-hongroises et à relancer le patrimoine rural.

Activités, coopératives, marques

Soutien aux activités de production tels que le vin, le miel, différents types de fromages, le travail du bois d’olivier, de cosmétiques ainsi que les produits de la Maison Vrmac.

Qualité des produits garantis par le label AOC (appellation d’origine contrôlée).

Composants du projet

« Depuis 2002, j’ai assisté à de nombreux ateliers d’architecture et d’urbanisme avec des professionnels et des étudiants de différentes universités françaises. J’ai également pris part à des ateliers de botanique, et à des ateliers pratiques de maçonnerie traditionnelle en pierre sèche.

En 2015, une étude plus systématique de valorisation économique de Vrmac a été financée dans le cadre du programme IPA Transborder de l’UE. Elle a été réalisée par une équipe d’experts croates et monténégrins dont j’ai fait parti, ainsi qu’avec le partenariat avec la ville de Tivat et de plusieurs associations locales : ONG Napredak Gornja Lastva (habitants et défenseurs du village) – ONG Expeditio (association d’architectes basée à Kotor) à Kotor). Ces deux ONG sont partie prenante du projet. »

– Prince Nikola Petrović Njegoš, président de la Fondation Petrović Njegoš.

  • Exode rural et économique : une partie des habitants vivent en ville, d’autres sont partis à l’étranger depuis plusieurs générations.
  • Problème de propriétés : Cadastre – Héritage
  • Cultures abandonnées et terrains en friches – plantes invasives
  • Forêts non entretenues et risque d’incendie
  • Manque d’eau malgré une pluviométrie importante – (sol calcaire fracturé)
  • Patrimoine construit non entretenu et en mauvais état
  • Troupeaux de chèvres non gardés – dégradation de la végétation et acidité des sols.
  • Danger de la construction sauvage et de l’urbanisation rampante

Les concepteurs : – Fondation Petrović Njegoš ; Anthos Air Power Normandie

Les institutions au niveau local, national et international ;

Les populations locales, les propriétaires et la diaspora ;

Les associations et coopératives ;

Les partenaires, les experts, les sponsors, les travailleurs culturels et les économistes.

  • Municipalité de Tivat ;
  • Municipalité de Kotor ;
  • Ministère du développement durable et du tourisme ;
  • Ministère de l’Agriculture ;
  • Représentants des propriétaires (droits de propriété) ;
  • Associations locales actives : Napredak Gornja Lastva, Expeditio;
  • Experts régionaux recrutés dans le cadre du projet IPA ;
  • LE R20, EGIS ;
  • Partenaires technologiques (GENIO Sas, Synecom, Set Energy SA, Airpower, WMI).

L’Atelier R20 Vrmac

L’atelier initié en partenariat entre la Fondation R20, la Fondation Petrovitch Njegosh et l’association Napredak Gornja Lastva se propose de réaliser une étude de faisabilité sur la protection et la mise en valeur des zones naturelles du massif de Vrmac et de son patrimoine. L’objectif étant de faire de ce projet un modèle repliable d’éco-développement d’une région.

Le programme a vocation à assurer le suivi de la mise en œuvre des différentes parties du projet et ainsi que de ses financements.

Le projet sera en collaboration avec les services municipaux des villes de Tivat et Kotor. Il réunira des experts locaux et régionaux qui ont déjà travaillé sur la zone mais également des experts internationaux dans différentes disciplines. Les différentes parties prenantes participeront à l’élaboration du projet, elles seront régulièrement consultées au cours des différentes phases du projet afin de mener à bien les phases de test et de développement du projet.

Prince Nicolas Petrovitch Njegosh Président de la Fondation PN

« La péninsule de VRMAC est un site et un paysage unique non seulement au Monténégro mais sur l’ensemble de la côte adriatique.

Miraculeusement préservé malgré la fièvre de l’immobilier qui banalise la côte depuis ces 20 dernières années, il mérite de faire l’objet de tous les soins et d’être non seulement protégé mais également valorisé, pour lui même et en ce qu’il valorise l’ensemble des équipements touristiques de la région.

Le choix de la Mairie de Trivat de faire de cette zone naturelle protégée dans le prolongement de la partie de Vrmac sur la commune de Kotor, inscrite au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO est un choix judicieux et utile pour l’ensemble des communes de Trivat et de Kotor mais il enrichit également l’offre touristique du Monténégro. Ce projet peut devenir un laboratoire et un modèle de développement durable qui renforcera l’image de l’Etat Ecologique de notre pays.

Personnellement, je suis attaché à ce site au travers du village de Gornja Lastva et de la petite équipe qui courageusement le protège et l’anime.

Depuis 2002, nous avons étudiés ensemble, au fil de plusieurs ateliers d’été, les possibilités de revitaliser le village et les territoires auxquels il est connecté.

Sous la végétation anarchique et derrières les vestiges de pierres est caché un petit paradis méditerranéen  dans lequel et grâce auquel ont pu vivre des générations  d’agriculteurs, d’artisans, de marins, et d’intellectuels qui ont contribué à travers une histoire mouvementée à la qualité et à la diversité culturelle du Monténégro.

Faire revivre ce territoire, revitaliser ses activités, faire fructifier ses ressources, révéler aux habitants des environs et aux visiteurs la beauté et la richesse naturel du site, leur permettre de s’y ressourcer, d’y découvrir une culture et un art de vivre, familiariser leurs enfants avec la nature et un mode de vie sain, offrir des lieux de réinsertion pour des personnes handicapées ou en difficulté….Et commencer cette belle aventure en 2016 juste après la COP 21, qui je l’espère sera l’année des décisions historiques pour sauver notre planète, cela donne tous son sens à nos engagements écologiques et nous fera participer à cette mobilisation mondiale.

Voilà les enjeux magnifiques de ce  projet qui doivent être en mesure de mobiliser les institutions comme les citoyens de ce pays. Cette belle histoire collective que nous proposons et qui renoue avec les générations qui nous ont précédés, au-delà des intérêts financiers de quelques uns, peut apporter à tous plus de prospérité et une meilleure qualité de vie. »

Prince Nikola Petrovitch Njegosh.

Zéro émission, est l'objectif de Smart City!